The #1 High School and University Resource for Saskatchewan Students
Nels, Anna and Evelyn Dahl Nursing Education Fund

Scholarship Value $3,000

Number of Scholarships 1

With the passing of Evelyn-Dahl-Esplin in January, 2004, the NELS, ANNA, AND EVELYN DAHL NURSING EDUCATION FUND AWARD was born.

As part of her bequest, Evelyn made a commitment to the support of a profession she loved. Evelyn was a registered nurse, trained at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto, from which she graduated in 1952. She worked in all aspects of nursing. Humber Memorial Hospital in Toronto asked her to establish the first school of registered nursing assistants in Canada, which she did.

She was the first to accept a male student into a Canadian nursing school and was also the first to accept four students from Barbados. In addition, Evelyn was instrumental in the fight for the rights of the deaf and hearing-impaired.

Evelyn's parents, Nels and Anna Dahl, were generous people, helping those less fortunate and working to improve local health care delivery in the Birch Hills area. Evelyn carries on their family legacy by establishing The Nels, Anna, And Evelyn Dahl Nursing Education Fund.


The fund was established to provide financial support for an Aboriginal student from Saskatchewan pursuing post-secondary studies in Nursing. For the purpose of this award, Aboriginal is understood to include status Indians, non-status Indians, as well as Metis.


NELS, ANNA, AND EVELYN DAHL NURSING EDUCATION FUND AWARD is administered by The Saskatoon Foundation. A selection committee reviews the applications and recommends award recipients for Board approval. Decisions are final and not subject to appeal.


This Fund provides one annual award (the amount will vary due to investment income, but is anticipated to be a minimum of $3,000) to be used to assist the successful applicant in receiving education and training at a not-for-profit post-secondary institution of his or her choice. The award is made on the basis of the criteria listed below. The successful applicant will be chosen by a selection committee. The committee will determine the standards which applicants must meet. The winner will be announced at an appropriate time.